News: "Friendly's Fire" Shows How Far A Man Will Go to Preserve His Veteran Friend's Sanity; Opens May 3

Photo credit: N-K Photography
Beginning May 3, 2019, award-winning Rising Sun Performance Company presents a new comedy/drama, Friendly's Fire, under the direction of Akia Squitieri, at the 14th Street Y, 344 E 14th St. between 1st and 2nd Avenues, Manhattan, NYC. Friendly's Fire, written by John Patrick Bray, had its world premiere in 2017 and has won and been nominated for several awards.

The synopsis reads:

"In a cabin in Alaska, Guy Friendly, a Gulf War veteran and bee-herder, has just had a tooth stolen during casual sex. His best friend Todd, a pawn-shop owner dressed as an astronaut, finds Friendly in a fevered state. Trapped by the snow, Todd has little choice but enter Friendly’s fevered dream, to unravel the events of the night before – and the events of the Gulf War that led Friendly to becoming a shut-in. An homage to Western movies, He-Man action figures, and the playwright's belief as a child that the Sesame Street Muppet Guy Smiley was in fact God, Friendly's Fire shows us to what lengths one man will go to preserve the sanity of his friend - a veteran who lost his brother in service to our country."

Tickets are $15 (students/seniors/veterans/active military), general admission $25 (online in advance), $30 (at door) and are available at www.14StreetY.org/friendlysfire. Running time: 95 minutes.

Performance dates:
Friday, May 3 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, May 4 at 8:00 pm
Sunday, May 5 at 5:00 pm
Monday, May 6 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, May 8 at 3:00 pm
Wednesday, May 8 at 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 9 at 8:00 pm
Friday, May 10 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, May 11 at 8:00 pm
Sunday, May 12 at 5:00 pm
Monday, May 13 at 7:00 pm
Wednesday, May 15 at 3:00 pm & 8:00 pm
Thursday, May 16 at 8:00 pm
Friday, May 17 at 8:00 pm
Saturday, May 18 at 8:00 pm
Sunday, May 19 at 5:00 pm

Facebook: www.facebook.com/RisingSunNYC
Instagram: www.instagram.com/risingsunnyc
Twitter: www.twitter.com/RisingSunNYC

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Review: Don't Pass Up This "Bad Penny"

Review: "Bound" Explores the Bonds of Family, Land, and History from a Native Perspective

Review: Amina Henry and Project Y Create a Feminist "Sleeping Beauty" for Families